Course Authors is the product of many hundreds of hours of work and experience. The development of the core training material was led by two highly successful children’s authors, Tony Bradman and Peggy Woodford, backed by a team of supporting writers, editors, publishers and award-winning training experts.  

Tony Bradman

tony_bradmanTony Bradman was born in 1954. He went to school in London, and then Cambridge University. After university he worked in the music press, then became Deputy Editor of Parents magazine, and began reviewing children’s books. He had his first book for children published in 1985 and became a full-time author in 1987.

Author of over 50 books but perhaps best known for his Dilly the Dinosaur stories. Tony has also produced several successful anthologies for young readers for Random House Children’s Books, including three focusing exclusively on football: the FOOTBALL FEVER titles.  His books have sold more than two million copies worldwide and he has been published in the USA, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, France, Germany, Sweden, Spain and Japan amongst others.

He is in the top ten children’s authors whose work are borrowed from public libraries. His many published titles include:-

One Nil (Viking); Smile Please (Viking & Puffin); Sam the Girl Detective series (Yearling, 1989); Gerbil Crazy (Viking); Tommy Niner series (Viking); The Bluebeards (six titles, Piccadilly Press & Puffin) Dilly the Dinosaur series (over 14 titles).


write storybooks for children course authors


Peggy Woodford

Peggy Woodford was born in 1937 in Shillong, Assam and read English at St. Anne’s College, Oxford. She wrote her first novel, Abraham’s Legacy, which was published in 1963. She has worked on scripts and research for the BBC, and has been a senior tutor at Padworth College, Reading where she taught English.

Peggy is married with three daughters and currently resides in Clapham, London, where she pursues a successful writing career. Her published titles include:-

The Real Thing (Bodley Head,1977); Please Don’t Go (Transworld, 1987); See You Tomorrow (Bodley Head, 1979); Misfits (Methuen, 1985); Monster In Our Midst (Transworld, 1989); Out Of The Sun (Transworld, 1991); Blood and Mortar (Transworld, 1994). One Son is Enough (Walker Books, 2006); Please Don’t Go (2007); Backwater War (2010); Gunpowder Boy (2014).

Member of Society of Children’s Book Writers and is a member of the Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators.